Mylyn Trac Connector: accessing web task editor on Linux

Atenção, este blog foi migrado para: http://brunopereira.org

My friend Bairos provides me a Subversion repository and a Trac server, and I use both for personal projects.In my job, our issue tracker is JIRA, and I’m using it with Mylyn for several months. However, just recently i started using Mylyn with Trac, in a project I’m developing at home. The Trac server I’m using doesn’t have the XmlRpc plugin, so I’m not able to use Mylyn’s rich task editor with this server, and I faced some problems using the web task editor inside Eclipse on Linux.

Every time i tried to open the task editor, i was getting the following error message: “Could not create Browser page: XPCOM error -2147221164”. I’m not going to detail my analysis of this error, but I was able to fix it installing the packages xulrunner and xulrunner-gnome-support (I’m not sure if both are needed, though).

From my google searches, I could see that this error happens with a lot of applications on Linux, so probably several people using the Trac Connector with the web task editor on Linux faced the same problem. I hope this tip can help.

Just for the records, my environment here is: MEPIS Linux 7.0, Eclipse 3.3.1 with WTP, JDK 1.6.0_03 32 bits, Mylyn 2.2 and Trac 0.10.4

2 respostas para Mylyn Trac Connector: accessing web task editor on Linux

  1. Steffen Pingel disse:

    Nice to hear that you are using the Trac Connector! It would be great if you could add an entry to the Mylyn FAQ describing the error message and solution:

    http://wiki.eclipse.org/index.php/Mylyn_FAQ#Trac_Connector

Deixe uma resposta

